Tuesday, November 15, 2011

Ford County by John Grisham

In his first collection of short stories John Grisham takes readers back to Ford County, Mississippi, the setting of his first novel, "A Time to Kill." Featuring a cast of characters readers will never forget, these stories bring Ford County to vivid and colorful life. This wholly surprising collection reminds readers once again why Grisham is one of America's favorite storytellers.

Autumn Lover by Elizabeth Lowell

Returning to her Wyoming ranch at the Civil War's end, Elyssa Sutton finds it picked bare by scavengers and coveted by determined men. Yet the proud young woman vows never again to abandon her Ruby Mountain home, though it means enlisting the aid of a dark and dangerous stranger who lives for revenge alone.
Hunter Maxwell has suffered from the savagery of outlaws and the faithlessness of a woman. And he will trust no female - nor will he rest until the raiders who destroyed his family pay for their crimes.
A woman in, need, a man in pain, in fury and fire they must now stand as one to fight for something cherished, something lost ... and for a passion neither dreamed could live.
In the brisk chill of Autumn, ravaged hearts will be reborn.

Wednesday, November 2, 2011

"Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter" by Tom Franklin

This novel is among many things, a coming-of-age story. How did the characters come into themselves as the story progressed? What possibilities might the future hold for Larry and Silas?

For more information about the author, check out:http://www.harpercollins.com/authors/19243/Tom_Franklin/index.aspx